Cerkno Jubileum Orchestra: Zvočni sejalec

 IZK CD040 ( Klopotec) -may 2016

For the 20th anniversary edition of the Jazz Cerkno festival in 2015, Kaučič convened the 12-piece Cerkno Jubileum Orchestra. Kaučič’s compositions on Zvočni Sejalec (Sazas) are stylistically varied, utilizing traditional music, rock, and avant-garde jazz. The ensembles are tack-sharp, and there’s a slew of strong soloists, including Maier, Resnik, trumpeter Gabriele Cancelli, vibraphonist Luigi Vitale and electric guitarist Vitja Balžalorsky. With two percussionists, Kaučič relegates himself to directing, crouching off to the side of the stage in a way that recalls Vienna Art Orchestra’s Mathias Rüegg. However, comparisons end there; instead of the straight-faced delivery of erudite conceits, Kaučič goes for the heart and the gut, as he does in each of his many projects. 

Bill Shoemaker


demo MIX

Radio Student review ; JazzTimes , JazzConvention



IZKCD040_1 IZKCD040_2